red and white line Inchicore 1930s/1940s

read-only archive of posts up to February 2010.
jellybeanJ
Probationary Member

05 Feb 2009, 01:21 #1

Hi all,

I'm a Garaiste newbie here and just wondering can anyone help.... Would anyone have any information regarding a bus service that I think was a circle line
from Inchicore to town after the civil war. It was a fleet of single decker buses called the red and white bus line which I believe was run by a Mr. Peter
White. I understand this was acquired under a compulsory purchase order by CIE. Not sure what year. Would be brilliant if anyone had even a morsel of info

65DONARD

05 Feb 2009, 07:34 #2

Hi 'jellybeanj' and welcome to Garaiste.

The only infomation I have on 'Red & White Bus Service' comes from a book called 'Dublin's Buses' (difficult to find a copy these
days!!).

It says with some info added by myself. "RED & WHITE BUS SERVICE. This remained independent until Autumn 1934. The fleet of five Fords and one Bedford
was numbered, ie. taken over by the DUTC(Dublin United Tramway Company, later Transport Company) although a 14 seater Chevrolet was withdrawn. The company
operated between College Street & Inchicore. This became DUTC route 78 and lasted until 1937 when it was replaced by an extended route 52A running from
Sandymount, itself replaced over the City - Inchicore section by route 21 in 1940 when that route changed over from trams to buses, the buses on the 21 were
extended beyond the tram terminus at the Black Lion to Ring St which had been the terminus for the original 78 & 52A. It is now some years since the 21
last ran, largly replaced by a re-routed 51 & present day 78 (Both originally ran via Inchicore Rd, both now via Emmet Rd). Note that DUTC route 78 is no
relation to the present route 78 introduced by CIE in 1953 and operating over a similar routing. The DUTC was the Dublin bus & tram operator until 1945,